The following individuals have been identified by The Forum for their leadership and work on behalf of challenging and engaging public schools for all children.  We invite you to contact them directly or through us for support in your efforts on behalf of public schools that work for all children.  We have identified particular areas of expertise for each individual.  Many of our Conveners are recognized as leaders in the area of Teaching and Learning, and you are welcome to contact them through us.  To see their areas of expertise, click here.

    Barnett Berry, President, Center for Teaching Quality
    teacher leadership, teaching effectiveness, teacherpreneurism

    Ann Cook, Co-Director, Urban Academy, New York
    performance assessment, critical thinking

    Gerry House, President & CEO, Institute for Student Achievement
    High School turnaround, High School transformation, college readiness, professional development - especially the customization of school support in comprehensive or focused ways in such areas as inquiry-based instruction, distributed counseling and continuous organizational improvement

    Dave Lehman, retired, Founding Principal/Teacher, Lehman Alternative Community School, Ithaca, NY, public middle & high school, member Coalition of Essential Schools
    democratic school practices, student engagement, service learning, graduation by exhibition

    Dennis Littky, Co-Founder, Big Picture Schools, The Met School, College Unbound
    school design, advisory, internships, college

    Tony Monfiletto, Co-founder of Amy Biehl High School, Executive Director of the New Mexico Building and Education Congress, and Co-Founder, Executive Director and Principal of ACE Leadership High School
    school design, school leadership

    Linda Nathan, Headmaster, Boston Arts Academy
    the arts, assessment, school leadership

    Charlie Plant, Principal, The Paul Crowley East Bay Campus of The Met School, Newport, R.I.
    internships, advisory, school design

    Marcy Raymond, Principal, The Metro School, Columbus, Ohio
    STEM, performance assessment

    Michelle C. Russell, Co-Director, Young Women's Leadership Charter School of Chicago
    student engagement, portfolios

    Dianne C. Suiter, PhD, Principal, Central Academy Nongraded Elementary and Middle School, Middletown Ohio
    democratic and shared leadership, women in leadership, leadership in school reform and renewal, multi-aged and progressive education, the development of student voice in education, structural organizations that support all of the above

    Hilton Smith, Co-ordinator of Foxfire-Piedmont Partnership
    teaching and learning, the Foxfire approach

    Elliot Washor, Co-Founder, Big Picture Schools & The Met School
    certificates, school design, tinkering as a way of learning

    Yong Zhao, PhD, Presidential Chair, Associate Dean, College of Education, University of Oregon
    globalization, international education, educational technology/online learning, language education